USI Management

The three Service Chiefs are Vice Patrons of the Institution. Management is vested in a Council composed of 24 members, ten ex-officio and 14 elected for a period of three years. The Executive Committee consists of a Chairman and at least seven members, all chosen from the Council, and is responsible for execution of the policy guidelines given by the Council. The Director is the Chief Executive of the Institution, and also the Member-Secretary of both the above bodies.

The USI Council

  • Vice Patrons
    1. General Bipin Rawat, UYSM, AVSM, YSM, SM, VSM, ADC - Chief of the Army Staff
    2. Admiral Sunil Lanba, PVSM, AVSM, ADC - Chief of the Naval Staff
    3. Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa, PVSM, AVSM, YSM, VM, ADC - Chief of the Air Staff
  • President
    • Lt Gen PS Rajeshwar, AVSM, VSM - Chief of Integrated Defence Staff to Chairman COSC
  • Vice Presidents
    1. Lt Gen Devraj Anbu, AVSM, YSM, SM - Vice Chief of the Army Staff
    2. Vice Adm Ajit Kumar P, AVSM, VSM - Vice Chief of the Naval Staff
    3. Air Mshl Anil Khosla, PVSM, AVSM, VM, ADC - Vice Chief of the Air Staff
  • Ex-officio Members
    1. Shri Sanjay Mitra, IAS - Defence Secretary
    2. Lt Gen PJS Pannu, PVSM, AVSM, VSM - DCIDS (DOT)
    3. Lt Gen AS Bhinder, VSM - DGMT  *
    4. Cmde HP Singh - PDNT  *
    5. Air Vice Mshl AK Nabh, AVSM, VM, - ACAS Ops (Space)  *
  • Elected Members ( 01 Jan 2017 - 31 Dec 2019 )
    1. Lt Gen Anil Ahuja. PVSM, UYSM, AVSM, SM, VSM & Bar (Retd)
    2. Lt Gen Vinod Bhatia, PVSM, AVSM, SM (Retd) *
    3. Air Mshl Vinod Kumar Bhatia, PVSM, AVSM, VrC & Bar (Retd) *
    4. Maj Gen Ian Cardzoo, AVSM, SM (Retd) *
    5. Vice Adm Anil Kumar Chopra, PVSM, AVSM (Retd)
    6. Air Mshl SG Inamdar, PVSM, AVSM (Retd)
    7. Lt Gen GS Katoch, PVSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd) *
    8. Lt Gen Prakash Menon, PVSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd)
    9. Shri Asoke Mukerji, IFS (Retd) *
    10. Lt Gen Vijay Oberoi, PVSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd)
    11. Air Mshl Pramod Kumar Roy, PVSM, AVSM, VM, VSM (Retd)
    12. Lt Gen Arun Kumar Sahni, PVSM, UYSM, SM, VSM (Retd) *
    13. Vice Adm Shekhar Sinha, PVSM, AVSM, NM & Bar (Retd) *
    14. Maj (Prof) Raghu Nandan Swarup (Retd)
  • Member Secretary
    1. Lt Gen PK Singh, PVSM, AVSM, (Retd) - Director
  • Executive Committee
    1. Lt Gen PJS Pannu, PVSM, AVSM, VSM - DCIDS (DOT) - Chairman
    2. Those marked above with * - Members
    3. Lt Gen PK Singh, PVSM, AVSM, (Retd) - Member Secretary
  • Staff
    1. Lt Gen PK Singh, PVSM, AVSM, (Retd) - Director View detailed CV
    2. Maj Gen BK Sharma, AVSM, SM** (Retd) - Deputy Director (Research) and Head CS3
    3. Maj Gen PK Goswami, VSM (Retd) - Deputy Director (Adm)
    4. Maj Gen SB Asthana, SM, VSM (Retd) - Chief Instructor
    5. Sqn Ldr RTS Chhina (Retd) - Secretary and Editor CAFHR
    6. Librarian


MacGregor Medal